Tuesday, 6 June 2017


Erewash residents are being urged to check they know which polling station they are going to when voting in next week’s General Election. Poll cards have now been delivered to households and include the details and address of each voter’s polling station. The message comes as some voters will find they have to go to a different polling station to the one they attended for the local elections in May.
Residents can find their polling station via a search facility on the top left hand side of the home page of Erewash Borough Council’s website – www.erewash.gov.uk  The council’s elections team can also help with any enquiries. Email electreg@erewash.gov.uk or call 0115 907 1190.
· A new polling station will open at Christ Church, Vicarage Road, Cotmanhay for those residents who previously went to the Baptist Church, which has now closed.

In the last election the Conservatives had a majority of 3,584 but will find it harder to win on Thursday. With the polls narrowing and a last minute surge towards Labour the key factor will probably be that this time there will be no UKIP candidate. In 2015 UKIP received 7,792 votes and the key to the Erewash election will probably be who these voters decide to support.

The Tories have held the seat since 2010 but the majority has been small.
In 2015 Maggie Throup beat Labour's Catherine Atkinson by 3,584 votes and Ukip came in third with 7,792 votes overall.
In total 48,322 voted which is a turnout of 67.2 per cent.
Erewash has a population of 112,081 and there are 18 wards in the area.
The candidates
Catherine Atkinson - Labour
Maggie Throup - Conservative
Roy Dunn - Independent
Martin Garnett - Liberal Democrats
Ralph Herons - The Green Party

Party Candidate Votes % ±
Conservative Maggie Throup 20,636
Labour Catherine Atkinson 17,052
UKIP Philip Rose 7,792 
Liberal Democrat Martin Garnett 1,658
Green Ralph Hierons 1,184
Majority 3,584 7.4 +2.2 Turnout 48,322  67.2%

No comments:

Post a Comment